Betts: Duet for Violin and Cello, Op. 5, No. 1 in C Major

Betts: Duet for Violin and Cello, Op. 5, No. 1 in C Major. Facsimile of edition ca. 1810 (parts only) and modern performing edition, score and parts.
Sales price $8.00
Purchase includes

Performance Set
Modern Score and Parts

Betts Op 5 No 1 Complete Edition.pdf

Image of the Original Printing

Betts Op 5 No 1 Complete Facsimile.pdf

General Editorial Comments

The story of finding the original editions

Backpage Information

Notes and comments

Notes & Comments

Arthur Betts (1775-1846/7) was a violin maker, violin dealer and composer. His 3 Duos Concertante for 2 Cellos, Op. 12, were published by Grancino in 1982. These Duets of Opus 5 were published about 1810 in London. Duet No. 1 in C Major has a slow introduction in C Minor to a sonata form first movement in C Major. A second movement in F Major is marked Adagio con Espressione and the Finale is marked Rondo, Allegretto; rhythmically it is a Polonaise.

This piece can be purchased as part of a two-pack of related Betts editions. Click here to learn more.


  • 0cb08165c276e68f728641d20770167b.jpeg
  • 771be1b0f0e1a3b8c1678b8b70728039.jpeg
  • da80c029ae43c956cf0497b29c5f7cf1.jpeg