Hoffmann: Duo Concertans for Violin and Cello, Op. 5, No. 3, in E-Flat Major

Hoffmann: Duo Concertans for Violin and Cello, Op. 5, No. 3, in E-Flat Major (1803). Facsimile of 1803 edition (parts only) and modern performing edition, score and parts.
Sales price $6.00
Purchase includes

Performance Set
Modern Score and Parts

Hoffmann Op 5 No 3 - complete set

Image of the Original Printing

Hoffmann Op 5 No 3 - facsimile set

General Editorial Comments

The story of finding the original editions

Backpage Information

Notes and comments

Notes & Comments

H. A. Hoffmann (1770-1842) was a violinist active mostly in Mainz and Frankfort. He wrote at least eight Duos, Opus 5 and Opus 6. 

This duo in E-flat Major has a sonata form first movement and a Rondo second movement marked Allegro con moto. There is no slow movement.

This piece can be purchased as part of a three-pack of related Hoffmann editions. Click here to learn more.

Rare 18th and 19th Century Chamber Music including the Cello

In the late 1970s I acquired two bound volumes of duos for violin and cello. As a cellist, I was attracted to them since they were “duos concertante”, with the cello part equal to the violin part. There were 58 duos, with all the violin parts bound in one volume, and all the cello parts in the other.

I am offering many (but not all) of these duos in both facsimiles of the original (no scores were printed) and new performing editions by myself with scores and parts done on Finale. These editions will attempt to correct errors, resolve inconsistencies in dynamics, articulations, bowings, etc. However I will not supply such markings where there is no reason to do so, leaving that to the whim of the performers.


  • 0cb08165c276e68f728641d20770167b.jpeg
  • 771be1b0f0e1a3b8c1678b8b70728039.jpeg
  • da80c029ae43c956cf0497b29c5f7cf1.jpeg