Kraft: Grand Duo Concertante for Violin and Cello in D Minor, Op. 3, No. 1

Kraft: Grand Duo Concertante for Violin and Cello in D Minor, Op. 3, No. 1 (1811). Facsimile of ca. 1811 edition (parts only) and modern performing edition, score and parts.
Sales price $8.00
Purchase includes

Performance Set
Modern Score and Parts

Kraft Op 3 No 1 - complete set

Image of the Original Printing

Kraft Op 3 No 1 - facsimile set

General Editorial Comments

The story of finding the original editions

Backpage Information

Notes and comments

Notes & Comments

Antoine (Anton) Kraft (1749-1820) was a cellist in Haydn’s Esterhazy orchestra from 1778-90 and Beethoven wrote his Triple Concerto for Kraft. The 3 Grand Duos, Opus 3 were probably first published in 1792. The first movement of No. 1 in D Minor is in sonata form with slow introduction, and the three-part second movement is a Cantabile Adagio, a Recitative for the violin, and a Rondo closing.

I found a YouTube video of the first movement Kraft Grand Duo No. 1 but not from my edition. Note that they are playing from the facsimile, not my edition.

This piece can be purchased as part of a three-pack of related Kraft editions. Click here to learn more.

Rare 18th and 19th Century Chamber Music including the Cello

In the late 1970s I acquired two bound volumes of duos for violin and cello. As a cellist, I was attracted to them since they were “duos concertante”, with the cello part equal to the violin part. There were 58 duos, with all the violin parts bound in one volume, and all the cello parts in the other.

I am offering many (but not all) of these duos in both facsimiles of the original (no scores were printed) and new performing editions by myself with scores and parts done on Finale. These editions will attempt to correct errors, resolve inconsistencies in dynamics, articulations, bowings, etc. However I will not supply such markings where there is no reason to do so, leaving that to the whim of the performers.


  • 0cb08165c276e68f728641d20770167b.jpeg
  • 771be1b0f0e1a3b8c1678b8b70728039.jpeg
  • da80c029ae43c956cf0497b29c5f7cf1.jpeg